# HOUGHTON COUNTY SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE MEETING NOVEMBER 26, 2019

The Solid Waste Committee held a meeting on Tuesday, November 26, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. in the 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Pledge of Allegiance: The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Tikkanen. Attendance: Chairman Tikkanen, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Janssen. Also in attendance were Ruth Gleckler and Jennifer Kelly. Approval of Minutes: A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen and seconded by Commissioner Anderson to accept the October 22, 2019 Minutes as presented. The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0. Approval of Agenda/Additions: The Committee discussed adding #3 to New Business for the Solid Waste meeting time, and #4 for the Marquette Facility to the Agenda. A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to accept the Agenda with the two (2) additions as presented. The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0. Public Comments: None. Old Business: 1. Cardboard Recycling Update

Eric Forsberg, Administrator, stated during the 2019 fiscal year there were approximately 80 bales which is an average of 6.6 bales per month. There are 38 bales that are not paid

for and the County may need to pay. The decrease in cardboard recycling of

approximately \$3,000 from the previous year is due to the price crashing. There was approximately 14,277 tons of garbage in the 2019 fiscal year.

### 2. Brian Burke, DEQ Conference Call

Chairman Tikkanen stated that himself, Eric Forsberg, Gretchen Janssen and Carol Eckstrom had a telephone conference with Brian Burke. Chairman Tikkanen requested Jerald Wuorenmaa and Eric Bradfish follow up with their contacts in Dickinson County to see how their recycling efforts are going.

The Committee can visit the following websites: <a href="https://greatamericandisposal.com/recycle-center/">https://greatamericandisposal.com/recycle-center/</a>

https://www.watermeet.us/waste-recyclying-disposal/

Mike Csapo, the GM at RRRASOC can be contacted at (248)910-6439-cell phone is preferred, or (248)208-2270 office. His email is: <a href="mailto:mscapo@rrasoc.org">mscapo@rrasoc.org</a>.

## 3. Transfer Station RFP Update

Chairman Tikkanen swill make a sample of a RFP-operation available. He will email Carol Eckstrom a link to share with others.

#### New Business:

#### 1. Eagle Waste tour of Ashland Facility

Commissioners Janssen, Anderson and Tikkanen along with Eric Forsberg and possibly Commissioner Britz will leave on Wednesday, December 11, 2019 at 8:00 a.m. to go and tour the Ashland Facility. Eric Forsberg will rent a van. Chairman Tikkanen will confirm the date and time with the Ashland Facility and follow up with Jim Whittinghill.

#### 2. Calumet Twp Tire Collection Event - Results

Chairman Tikkanen stated Calumet Township had a grant for a maximum of 2,000 tires for the Calumet Township area. They only collected approximately 900 tires. Tim Gasperich, Calumet Township Supervisor, stated that there was a low turnout and they were not sure why.

### 3. Solid Waste Committee Meeting Time

The Committee agreed to cancel the December Solid Waste Committee due to traveling to Ashland in December to tour the Ashland Facility.

The Committee agreed to change the monthly meeting times for 2020 to 10:30 a.m. Jennifer Kelly, Clerk, will prepare a calendar for 2020 with the time change and post the December monthly meeting be canceled.

# 4. Marquette Facility

Commissioner Anderson requested the Committee invite someone from Marquette to attend a monthly Solid Waste Committee meeting in Houghton. Chairman Tikkanen will contact Brad Austin and ask him to attend in January, February or March.

Ruth Glecker asked if Brian Burke had brought up Marquette during the telephone conference. Chairman Tikkanen said no.

Public Comments:
None.
Adjournment:
A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to adjourn the meeting at 4:10 p.m.
The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0.
Tom Tikkanen, Chairman

Prepared By: Jennifer Kelly, Houghton County Clerk/Register of Deeds & Clerk of the

Solid Waste Committee