HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING APRIL 23, 2019

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Special meeting on Tuesday, April 23, 2019, in the 5th Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Albert Koskela at 12:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Koskela.

Roll call:

The following commissioners responded to roll call:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Albert Koskela, District 2; Glenn Anderson, District 3; Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Janssen to approve the Agenda as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

None.

New Business:

1. Houghton County Airport Fund Deficit Elimination Plan, Budget and Resolution

Eric Forsberg, Administrator, explained the new state requirements to the Board and stated the money will be transferred from the General Fund to the Airport Fund.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Britz to adopt the Houghton County Airport Fund Deficit Elimination Plan, Budget and Resolution as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote.

YES: Anderson, Britz, Tikkanen, Koskela, Janssen 5.

NO: None.

2. Houghton County Child Care Plan Budget and Amended Resolution

Eric Forsberg, Administrator, explained the state changes and the need for the Amended Resolution.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen, seconded by Commissioner Janssen to adopt the Houghton County Child Care Plan Budget and Amended Resolution as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote.
YES: Tikkanen, Janssen, Koskela, Anderson, Britz 5. NO: None.
Public Comments:
None.
Announcements:
Chairman Koskela announced a meeting for the Commissioners in Eagle River on May 13, 2019. A van will leave the courthouse at 8:00 a.m. for approximately 7 people.
Adjournment:
A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to adjourn at $12:10~\rm p.m.$
The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.
Albert Koskela, Chairman Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk