HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING JUNE 2, 2020

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Special meeting on Tuesday, June 2, 2020 at 12:00 p.m. in the 5th Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Albert Koskela at 12:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Koskela.

Roll call:

The following commissioners responded to roll call:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Albert Koskela, District 2; Glenn Anderson, District 3; Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

Chairman Koskela requested E 2 be added to the Agenda to pay the bills. He advised the Board that applicant, Benjamin Larson, is his relative by marriage, so he will abstain from voting.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to approve the Agenda with the one (1) addition as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

None.

Approval of Bills:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to approve paying the bills submitted of \$ 4,845,950.03 as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Anderson, Janssen, Tikkanen, Koskela, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

New Business:

1. Review of applications for Administrator's position

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to go into closed session.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Tikkanen, Britz, Koskela, Anderson, Janssen 5.

NO: None 0.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Janssen to reopen the special meeting and to interview Benjamin Larson, Michelle Brogan and Steven Nordstrom.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Anderson, Janssen, Tikkanen, Koskela, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Janssen to hold a special meeting with the public able to view by Zoom on Tuesday, June 9, 2020

beginning at 12:00 j	pm.	The interviews	will be	e scheduled	at 12:00	pm,	1:00pm,	and	2:00
pm.									
The Motion carried	by t	he following vo	te:						

YES: Anderson, Janssen, Tikkanen, Koskela, Britz 5. NO: None 0. **Public Comments:**

None.

Announcements:

Eric Forsberg, Administrator, discussed the reopening of the courthouse with the option of 1 door being open with a deputy at that entrance taking temperatures. A department head meeting may be scheduled this week.

Adjournment:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Britz and seconded by Commissioner Tikkanen to adjourn at 12:50 pm.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Albert Koskela, Chairman	Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk