HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS SPECIAL MEETING OCTOBER 16, 2020

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Special meeting on Friday, October 16, 2020 at 12:00 p.m. in the 5th Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton and public viewing by Zoom.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Albert Koskela at 12:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Koskela.

Roll call:

The following Commissioners responded to roll call done by Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Albert Koskela, District 2; Glenn Anderson, District 3; Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5.

New Business:

1. Houghton County Road Commission Board Appointment

Commissioner Anderson stated there were 4-5 applications, and Bill Siler was the incumbent. He also stated that the Coles Creek matter could have been handled better by the Houghton County Road Commission.

Chairman Koskela stated that Bill Siler has been doing a good job, and maybe puts blame on OHM. He recommended Bill Siler.

Commissioner Britz agreed with Chairman Koskela on the fault.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Britz and seconded by Commissioner Tikkanen to appoint Bill Siler to the Houghton County Road Commission Board.

Commissioner Anderson stated Bill Siler is a contractor, and questioned if there is a conflict of interest as he does bids and change orders. He wanted this put on the record.

Chairman Koskela agreed on the bids that Bill Siler does.

Commissioner Tikkanen discussed Bill Siler's experience. He stated Tim Gasperich had excellent credentials and to stick with proven leadership.

Commissioner Britz commented that in his two (2) years being on the Houghton County Road Commission board, he has never seen any indication of conflict of interest regarding Bill Siler.

The Motion carried by the following vote:

YES: Britz, Tikkanen, Koskela 3. NO: Anderson, Janssen 2.

Public Comments:

None.

Adjournment:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Tikkanen to adjourn at 12:12 pm.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Albert Koskela, Chairman

Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk