# HOUGHTON COUNTY BOARD OF COMMISSIONERS REGULAR MEETING MARCH 12, 2019

The Houghton County Board of Commissioners held a Regular meeting on Tuesday, March 12, 2019, in the 5<sup>th</sup> Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Call to Order:

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Albert Koskela at 5:00 p.m.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Koskela.

Roll call:

The following commissioners responded to roll call:

Tom Tikkanen, District 1; Albert Koskela, District 2; Glenn Anderson, District 3; Gretchen Janssen, District 4; Roy Britz, District 5.

Approval of Minutes:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen and seconded by Commissioner Anderson to approve the minutes of the February 12, 2019 meeting as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

Chairman Koskela requested #6 be added to the Agenda for Waste Transfer.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen, seconded by Commissioner Britz to approve the Agenda with the one (1) addition as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 5, Nays 0.

**Public Comments:** 

None.

Approval of Bills:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Tikkanen to approve paying the bills submitted of \$ 685,127.17 as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote.

YES: Anderson, Tikkanen, Koskela, Janssen, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

Correspondence:

Chairman Koskela advised the Board that there is correspondence in their packets.

Reports:

### **Standing Committee:**

Commissioner Britz reported to the Board on the following: Northcare Network, Houghton County Road Commission, and the Airport.

Commissioner Janssen reported to the Board on the following: Houghton Keweenaw Conservation District and the Houghton County Planning Commission.

Commissioner Anderson reported to the Board on the following: Houghton Keweenaw Conservation District, and the Houghton County Fair Board.

Commissioner Tikkanen reported to the Board on the following: Solid Waste Committee, and the Airport. Commissioner Tikkanen thanked Dick Richards from Hancock Township for his years of service and welcomed Jim Moore as the new Hancock Township Treasurer. Dick Richards will be the temporary Deputy Treasurer.

## Special Committee:

Chairman Koskela said this would be discussed later in the Agenda.

### County Officers:

Brian McLean, Houghton County Sheriff, advised the board that snowmobile noise is down, but speed has been an issue this snowmobiling season.

Dennis Hext, Airport Manager, stated the April 3-6 charter to Laughlin is sold. The charter from May 16-19 still has available seats. The terminal renovations have begun in the bagging area. The Airport received \$2,000.00 Fire training Grant.

#### New Business:

## 1. MSU Extension Presentation

Paul Putnam, MSU Extension District 1 Director, provided several handouts to the Board and gave a brief presentation regarding MSU Extension activities in Houghton County.

# 2. South Range Floodplain Resolution

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to approve the Resolution as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote.

YES: Anderson, Janssen, Tikkanen, Koskela, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

# 3. Houghton County Jail

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson, seconded by Commissioner Janssen to accept the recommendation of the Committee of the Whole for the Houghton County Jail and add new members to the Task Force as needed.

The Board will review all of the names received for the Task Force Committee at the May 14, 2019 board meeting.

Eric Forsberg, Administrator, will send out correspondence to the municipalities and have the envelopes addressed to the Supervisors and Board for the townships, and to the Managers for City and Villages. Commissioners will follow up with the people in their districts. Eric Forsberg will send out all correspondence to everyone on the Task Force list.

The Motion carried by a voice vote: Ayes 5, Nays 0.

4				. •	
4	Apr	ma	nria	1110	nc
т.	4 YD L	лυ	DIIG	$\iota\iota\iota\iota$	m

- a. UPCAP \$1,100
- b. Copper Country Mental Health \$41,123.73

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to approve the above-mentioned appropriations as presented.

The Motion carried by the following vote.

YES: Tikkanen, Janssen, Koskela, Anderson, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

### 5. Travel Requests:

a. Staci Kochan – Prosecutor's Office

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Tikkanen to approve the above-mentioned travel request as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

6. Waste Transfer

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to appoint Jennifer Kelly as the Clerk of the Solid Waste Committee to take minutes.

The Motion carried by the following vote.

YES: Tikkanen, Janssen, Koskela, Anderson, Britz 5.

NO: None 0.

**Public Comments:** 

Evan McDonald addressed the Board.

Linda Belote addressed the Board. Commissioner Tikkanen read the list for the Task Force Committee.

Announcements:	
None.	
Adjournment:	

A Motion was made by Commissioner Tikkanen and seconded by Commissioner Anderson to adjourn at 5:45 pm.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 5, Nays 0.

Albert Koskela, Chairman	,	Jennifer Kelly, County Clerk	