HOUGHTON COUNTY SOLID WASTE COMMITTEE MEETING OCTOBER 22, 2019

The Solid Waste Committee held a meeting on Tuesday, October 22, 2019 at 3:00 p.m. in the 5th Floor Floor Conference Room of the Courthouse, City of Houghton.

Pledge of Allegiance:

The Pledge of Allegiance was led by Chairman Tikkanen.

Attendance:

Chairman Tikkanen, Commissioner Anderson and Commissioner Janssen.

Also in attendance were Susan Burack, Eric Bradfish, Ruth Gleckler, Evan McDonald, Carol Ekstrom, Sara Fehringer, Tom Shook, Walter Kania, Roy Britz and Jennifer Kelly.

Approval of Minutes:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to accept the September 24, 2019 Minutes as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0.

Approval of Agenda/Additions:

The Committee discussed adding the Walmart Grant, Brian Burke, and the Calumet Township Tire Collection event to the Agenda.

A Motion was made by Commissioner Janssen and seconded by Commissioner Anderson to accept the Agenda with the three (3) addition as presented.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0.

Public Comments:

Tom Shook asked for an update on regional recycling.

Old Business:

1. Recycling surveys/petitions

Carol Ekstrom stated the surveys are almost ready and they hope to collect at least 500 signatures by the end of November in the townships.

2. Walmart Grant

Susan Burrack stated she has not heard from Eric Forsberg as to the status of the application.

3. Brian Burke

Chairman Tikkanen stated he email Brian Burke today/

4. Calumet Township Tire Collection

Commissioner Anderson stated there was an ad in the Gazette recently. This will be for Calumet Township residents only.

New Business:

1. Community Recycling forums

Carol Eckstrom asked what the cities and townships are paying for fees and if Eric Forsberg has advised the Committee yet. Chairman Tikkanen advised the Committee that Eric was out of town, but he would request an update at the November meeting.

The Committee would like an update from Terri Brey or Eric Forsberg on how the cardboard recycling is going at the Houghton County Transfer Station. Is the County making money on this?

2. RFP Discussion/Update

Jim Whittinghill from Eagle Waste and Recycling stated they currently have 88 municipalities working with their company. They have opened an MERF in Eagle River that currently processes 180-190 tons per day. They are 100% focused on recycling. He stated that if their company took over the Houghton County Transfer Station they would do trash and recycling. They would not accept paint, but would accept e-waste. They would most likely be open Monday to Friday from 6:00 or 7:00 a.m. to 4:00 or 5:00 p.m., and would have Saturday hours.

He gave an example of a small town named Scott with approximately 800 homes in the country where they provide a subside program.

Eagle Waste and Recycling will not take recycling out of the trash. It must come to the facility separately. They would provide containers at drop off sites, and could provide cans for recycling and garbage to customers.

Eagle Waste and Recycling would like a long term contract with municipalities for 10 years. He stated that Houghton County would continue to be a Transfer Station and not a MERF. They would update equipment for the facility. They would provide training and

literature to customers. They would not accept household hazardous waste, and there would not be composting.

Commissioner Britz questioned what would happen to the current employees at the transfer station. Mr. Whittinghill stated they would like to continue to employee good existing employees, and possibly employ new employees for sales in the future.

3. Cardboard recycling update

Chairman Tikkanen stated that Eric Forsberg has the information. The Committee discussed getting updates from Eric Forsberg and Terri Brey at the November meeting.

Public Comments:

None.

Adjournment:

A Motion was made by Commissioner Anderson and seconded by Commissioner Janssen to adjourn the meeting at 4:20 p.m.

The Motion carried by a voice vote. Ayes 3, Nays 0.

Tom Tikkanen, Chairman

Prepared By: Jennifer Kelly, Houghton County Clerk/Register of Deeds & Clerk of the Solid Waste Committee